top of page

china overview

Country Name in Chinese: 中华人民共和国 (中国)

Country Name in English: The People's Republic of China (P.R.C.)

Capital City: Beijing

Largest City: Shanghai

Official Language: Mandarin Chinese

Area: about 9,600,000 square kilometers

Population: 1,370,536,875 (by 2010)

Number of Ethnic Groups: 56

Foundation Day: October 1st, 1949

National Flag: The Five-starred Red Flag

Form of Government: System of National People's Congress

Administrative Demarcations: 23 provinces, 5 autonomous regions, 4 municipalities, and 2 special administrative regions

Currency: ¥ Renminbi (RMB)

International Dialing Code: +86

Time Zone: UTC+8

Road traffic: Right-hand traffic

Religions: Officially atheist, Buddhism, Confucianism, Taoism, Islam, Christianity

Biggest National Festival: Chinese New Year

National Treasure: Giant Panda

china overview

bottom of page